Sep 18, 2020 11:17 AM

NPHS Cross Country: McCook Invite Recap and Results

Posted Sep 18, 2020 11:17 AM

By Jake Hasenauer - NPHS Cross Country Coach

I was very proud of how each of our kids competed on a tough course today! Fifteen teams had runners in attendance today, and both North Platte teams brought home the championship.  McCook is one of the hardest courses we run on.  Our word of the week was "determination".  I told the kids all week to tell themselves, "I love this hill", each time they went up one.  Running is very hard physically, but also super tough mentally as well.  I was proud of how our athletes rose to the challenge of a mentally tough course and were each able to defend their team titles from a year ago.  

Evan Caudy led the boys to a victory with a 17:00 5K.  Second place was nearly one minute behind him.  Evan's goal was to break the 17 minute mark today on our most challenging course, very few people have ever broken 17 on this course, so getting right to that mark was impressive.  All of the varsity boys medaled today to help lead the team to victory with Evan's first place finish, followed by: Jonah San Miguel (5th), Rian Teets (7th), Tom Moss (8th), Aaron Franz (10th), and Quade Lowe (12th).  

The girls had a great battle with McCook beating them out by 9 points for the victory!  There was lots to be proud of on the girls side.  The girls battled tough and were very determined to race well for their team.  Zarah Blaesi led the way for the girls with a 2nd place finish, followed by: Evelyn Blaesi (7th), Nelia Rivas (8th), and Lexi Hoatson (14th).  

Both JV teams won also, with Marissa Holm leading the way for the girls with a 1st place finish, followed by Boston Pettera (2nd), Shelby Steele (5th), Ashlynn Ditch (6th), and Audrey Eisenrich (8th).  The boys were led by Gabe Jenny (1st) followed by Ben Steele (2nd), Trenton Golter (3rd), Ainsley Schroeder (4th), Rayce Moerke (5th), Oban Sandoval (8th), and Hunter Hothan (10th).  This was the 3rd meet this season the JV Boys have earned the front five medals and they have won each JV meet this year.