Apr 02, 2024

Collegiate Farm Bureau Leaders Receive Ron Hanson Scholarship

Posted Apr 02, 2024 11:00 PM

Nebraska Farm Bureau 

LINCOLN, NEB.– The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation awarded the Ron Hanson Collegiate Leader Scholarship to three members of Collegiate Farm Bureau at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln (UNL) who are pursuing degrees from the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources (CASNR).

Emily Eilers, a senior from Wayne, Abygail Streff, a junior from Pierce, and Caleb Burnside, a freshman from Stapleton, each received a $1,500 scholarship.

Dr. Ron Hanson, professor emeritus at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln, established the scholarship to reward students who prioritize leadership building activities while on campus.

“Dr. Hanson chose to continue his legacy of service through this scholarship, and we are so proud to steward his generous gift,” said Megahn Schafer, executive director of the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation. “Dr. Hanson is a longtime Farm Bureau member who recognizes the value of getting involved to make a difference, and this scholarship encourages the next generation of leaders who will make their voices heard and better their communities.”

This year’s recipients rose to the top of a strong candidate pool. Applicants were judged based on their involvement with UNL Collegiate Farm Bureau, volunteer and leadership activities, and their goals for the future.

Eilers is pursuing a degree in Agricultural and Environmental Studies Communications with minors in Agricultural Leadership and Grazing. She is involved in volunteer organizations including UNL Collegiate Farm Bureau, where she served as the vice president of communications and public relations, 4-H, where she helps youth learn concepts they can apply to their 4-H project, and FFA, where she assists with the Agricultural Communications Career Development Event at State FFA Convention. After graduation, Eilers plans to pursue a position in agriculture communications, working with farmers and ranchers to share their story with consumers in a purposeful way.

Streff is earning a degree in agricultural economics. Currently serving as president of UNL’s Collegiate Farm Bureau, Streff has immersed herself in all things Farm Bureau and agricultural advocacy. In addition to her education, Streff is currently serving as an intern for Governor Pillen’s office and recently represented Nebraska Farm Bureau at the American Farm Bureau Collegiate Discussion Meet. Upon her graduation, Streff plans to pursue a career that allows her to advocate for agriculture, sharing her passion for the industry.

Burnside is studying agribusiness during his time at UNL. While only a freshman, Burnside has been involved in the UNL Collegiate Farm Bureau; attending conferences and meetings to expand his network and knowledge. Burnside is actively involved in various agricultural organizations on campus including Alpha Gamma Sigma, Nebraska Agriculture Youth Council, and the Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship program. After Burnside earns his degree, he plans to return to the family farm as the fourth generation to work the land.

“My congratulations to Emily, Abygail, and Caleb as recipients of the 2024 Ron Hanson Collegiate Leader Scholarship. It is my privilege to help recognize their outstanding leadership contributions and campus involvement to the Nebraska Farm Bureau and its collegiate chapter.  I applaud their efforts and goals as young agriculture leaders to be difference makers for the future of agriculture,” said Schafer.

The mission of the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation is to engage youth, educators, and the general public to promote an understanding of the vital importance of agriculture in the lives of all Nebraskans. The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit. For more information about the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation, visit www.nefbfoundation.org.