Jun 11, 2024

Dr. Renee Engler appointed to NMPAC Board

Posted Jun 11, 2024 2:19 PM
 Renee Engler (Courtesy of Great Plains Health)
Renee Engler (Courtesy of Great Plains Health)

Great Plains Health

Great Plains Health is proud to announce that Dr. Renee Engler has been appointed to the Nebraska Medical Association Political Action Committee (NMPAC) Board. The NMA Board of Directors appointed 12 physicians to the NMPAC Board at its May meeting, highlighting their commitment to active leadership in advocacy efforts. 

Dr. Engler has demonstrated dedication and expertise in her field, making her a  valuable addition to the NMPAC Board. Her experience includes serving as Chair of the  Medical Executive Committee, Emergency Co-Medical Director, Chief of Medical Staff,  Vice Chair of the Clinical Integration Network, and Emergency Medicine Resident  Coordinator at Great Plains Health. Dr. Engler has been an active member of various  committees, including Peer Review, Bylaws, and Credentials. She has educated  hundreds of providers as an Advanced Trauma Life Support instructor throughout the  region and received the UNMC Excellence in Educational Service Award in 2023.  Additionally, she was a recipient of the Woman of Achievement Award for medical  service in 2022. 

Dr. Engler expressed her excitement for this new role.  

"I am honored to join the NMPAC Board and contribute to the advocacy efforts that are  vital for both physicians and patients. Together, we can address critical issues such as  prior authorization and scope of practice, ensuring our voices are heard at the Capitol. I  am especially thrilled to represent Western Nebraska, bringing our unique perspectives  and needs to the forefront of these important discussions." 

Dr. Engler received her bachelor's degree from the University of Nebraska and her  Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of Nebraska Medical Center. She completed her residency training in Emergency Medicine at SUMMA Health Systems in  Akron, Ohio.  

We congratulate Dr. Engler on this important appointment and look forward to her  continued contributions to the medical community.

NMPAC Board Members: 

• Jordan Warchol, MD, Chair – Omaha 

• Rachel Brock, DO – Lincoln 

• Renee Engler, MD – North Platte 

• Sean Figy, MD – Omaha 

• Linda Ford, MD – Bellevue 

• Jason Kruger, MD – Lincoln 

• Joshua Mammen, MD – Omaha 

• Daniel Rosenquist, MD – Columbus 

• Britt Thedinger, MD – Omaha 

• Sherri Thomas, DO – Lincoln 

• David Watts, MD – Omaha 

• Robert Wergin, MD – Seward